Unit Breakdown

This shows how we capture all the evidence to obtain enough credits for this part of your award

Diploma qualification units can be knowledge or skills based. Each different unit within the qualification has specific requirements and will have different evidence to demonstrate your ability to meet the requirements of the unit. Your coach will plan the most appropriate types of evidence with you. If you identify your own that is even better as it will clearly show your coach that you have a good understanding of the requirements and will have your qualification achieved much faster.



Understand Mental Health Problems     


Knowledge and skills

Learning outcomes

Assessment criteria

Potential Evidence


Understand the types of mental ill health.


Describe the following types of mental ill health according to the psychiatric (DSM/ICD) classification system:

• mood disorders • personality disorders • anxiety disorders • psychotic disorders • substance-related disorders • eating disorders • cognitive disorders.

Showcasing your knowledge: –

Tutor marked assignment – one of:

a) Assessment Pack

b) Resource Pack                      

c) Essay


All Assignments MUST use and be submitted with an appropriate referencing system


Professional Discussion


Prior Learning / Certificates

Learning Journal




Explain the key strengths and limitations of the psychiatric classification system.


Explain alternative frameworks for understanding mental distress.


Explain indicators of mental ill health.


Understand the impact of mental ill health on individuals and others in their social network.


Explain how individuals experience discrimination


Explain the effects mental ill health may have on an individual.


Explain the effects mental ill health may have on those in the individual’s familial, social or work network.


Explain how to intervene to promote an individual’s mental health and well-being.